Say about us..

kb_wot_logo_new

Without a doubt, San Gimignano is one of the most picturesque places in Tuscany: a postcard-perfect hilltop village punctuated by 14 tall towers. During the day, the town bustles with activity, but after the busloads of tourists depart, the romantic ambiance of yesteryear fills the cobbled streets. For the lucky few who spend the night, there is a jewel of small inn…

header-logo-tagline

L’Antico Pozzo is the choicest inn within the walls, a 15th-century palazzo converted to a hotel in 1990 with careful attention to preserving the structural antiquity without sacrificing modern convenience (guests even have Internet access). The subdued elegance and comfort offer the most medieval-feeling experience in this most medieval of cities…

hotelguru

“Arguably the best hotel in this famous walled town, Il Pozzo occupies a 15th-century townhouse which has been carefully restored and tastefully decorated. There are original terracotta floors, beamed ceilings and delicate frescoes; rooms at the top have wonderful views.”
“Painstakingly restored 15th-century townhouse. Original terracotta floors, beamed ceilings and delicate frescoes throughout. Romantic bedrooms in pastels with four posters and ethereal drapes. A charming spot for romantics and local exploring. ”


The sense of heritage here is irresistible: stone arches and winding stairs lead to an intimate breakfast terrace; chic, spacious bedrooms are often replete with cornices and crowned with networks of beams. The posher room are named after poets and graded – Dante, a high-ceilinged beauty rich in polished woods, is the best. Naturally.

Our independent authors have visited Hotel L’Antico Pozzo and selected this as one of our recommended hotels in San Gimignano.

MICHELIN-LOGO

Situato nel cuore di San Gimignano, lungo la centrale Via San Matteo, l’Hotel L’Antico Pozzo è una struttura graziosa, inserita in un edificio quattrocentesco ristrutturato sotto il controllo della Soprintendenza alle Belle Arti, e offre camere raffinate ed esclusive con WiFi gratuito. Riconosciuto come residenza storica, L’Antico Pozzo ha saputo preservare accuratamente il suo notevole patrimonio medioevale, ma non manca di offrire, nelle sue sistemazioni, anche comfort moderni come l’aria condizionata e la TV satellitare a schermo piatto. La colazione viene servita in un elegante salone, un tempo utilizzato per feste e cerimonie. Per la cena, il cordiale staff dell’Hotel L’Antico Pozzo sarà lieto di consigliarvi uno dei numerosi ristoranti nelle vicinanze, in cui potrete assaggiare alcuni piatti della cucina tradizionale toscana.

Hotel Antico Pozzo, a charming place full of history and legends..
In the very hearth of the town’s center is a beautiful historic residence telling a long and intriguining history… its is said that, during the 17th century, the well was the place where all virgins who refused to submit to the cruel “Ius prime noctis” were hung for days. During the 18th century the wonderful Sala Rosa (Pink room) of the Hotel was a dance hall for high-society celebrations. The palace hosts Hotel Antico Pozzo, hotel de charme in San Gimignano’s historic center.
Chic & Elegant Rooms for a Romantic stay

Reviews

87%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 50 anni
08.11.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
4 / 5
Camera
4 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
4 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
4 / 5
Ho incontrato da parte del personale dell'hotel grandissima professionalità e cortesia ed ho avuto un soggiorno assolutamente piacevole.
94%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 30 anni
03.11.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
4 / 5
Camera
5 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
4 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
5 / 5
Sehr schönes Anwesen fernab der Zivilisation mit bestem Essen und Service!
100%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 50 anni
01.11.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
5 / 5
Camera
5 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
5 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
5 / 5
Molto bello, accoglienza di primo livello
97%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 50 anni
30.10.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
4 / 5
Camera
5 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
5 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
5 / 5
Hôtel tout à fait agréable et très bien placé
84%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 30 anni
28.10.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
4 / 5
Camera
4 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
4 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
3 / 5
Forse qualche varietà in più sarebbe stata gradita, m andava bene anche così
Molto piacevole, ottima posizione, albergo tranquillo, personale molto cortese
100%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 60 anni
27.10.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
5 / 5
Camera
5 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
5 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
5 / 5
Wonderful place to stay in San Gimignano. The owners and staff are warm, and helpful. The room was wonderful. This is our third time staying there. We will be back again
97%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 60 anni
24.10.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
4 / 5
Camera
5 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
5 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
5 / 5
A very enjoyable stay. Excellent location with very friendly and helpful staff. We would highly recommend the hotel.
94%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 50 anni
19.10.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
4 / 5
Camera
4 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
5 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
5 / 5
We loved San Gimignano and our stay at L'Antico Pozzo. The hotel was very clean and the room was quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and yummy.
97%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 50 anni
17.10.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
4 / 5
Camera
5 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
5 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
5 / 5
We very much enjoyed our stay. The location was great and the room added to the experience. Thank you!
97%

Viaggiatore leisure
intorno ai 50 anni
16.10.2017
Rapporto qualità prezzo
5 / 5
Camera
5 / 5
Posizione
5 / 5
Pulizia
5 / 5
Cortesia del personale
5 / 5
Prima colazione
4 / 5
Hermosa ciudad y excelente hotel

Caricamento delle recensioni in corso...

TESTIMONIAL

The hotel is beautiful and has a lot of history! There is a private garden deck that is romantic with casual elegance.
Haley G
(tripadvisor)
The room had a vaulted ceiling with a handpainted cherub and pastoral scenes. We ate breakfast on the terrace outside with linen tablecloths and many coffee refills! - Len calabree
Len Calabree
(hotels.com)
A gem of a hotel in a unique setting! Definitely should be booked by couples!
Jonathan Brown
(hotels.com)
We felt at home from the moment we arrived. All other guests we spoke to shared the same feelings
LoveItaly New Jersey
(tripadvisor)
If you want modern, or large and opulent, then this is not the hotel for you, but if you want small, personal, charming, lovely, then this is a great choice!
Jdtraveler Los Angeles
(tripadvisor)
The hotel was a delightful surprize. Very clean and a combination of historical and modern which surprized us since the building was built in the 1400's
Thomas Stone
(venere.com)
The glowing reviews found in the professional travel books are correct. This is a gem of a hotel in a lovely historic small town
Member from Coppell
(tripadvisor)
The staff... well, the staff was exemplary, knowedgeable, friendly, helpful, each of them memorable
The SundanceKid Miami Florida
(tripadvisor)
The family that runs it not only treats you like a special guest but are your perfect travel partner
Ebahler Lafayette
(tripadvisor)
This is by far, one of the nicest hotels we stayed at during our travels throughout Italy
Knotbyknot New York
(tripadvisor)
It is a delightful building with a wonderfully calm atmosphere. Without exception, the warm, very friendly and helpful staff, in all areas of this lovely hotel, worked hard to ensure that every aspect of our week’s stay there offered comfort, relaxation and enjoyment
Sueannrat
(tripadvisor)
Very well maintained and run hotel. Not on one of the piazzas, but quieter for it and still close to all the attractions
Peter Grant Canada
(Guestbook)
The outstanding scenary from window was exactly the one which I had been longing for many years
Kokoronotabi Japan
(tripadvisor)